My First Week

Friends and Family:

Thanks for your calls, text messages, emails, etc. over the past week! Today is my 7th day in St. Joseph. (Well, kind of. I got here last Friday night.) I have enjoyed my first week at Word of Life.

My schedule is extremely free compared to what I’m used to. I go into the church office on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. Friday night and Sunday, I have church and a few responsibilities. Other than that, I’ve just been sitting around. I just got here and I haven’t met too many people or gotten into a groove yet, so I don’t have much to do. I’m used to be busy with classes, work, and whatever else. So this is crazy!

My Week

On Mondays, the majority of the church staff takes the day off. Some people come into the office, but most (me included) have a free day. I like this, because ministers and church staff (and even volunteers) can be deprived of a Sabbath when their weekend is spent working at church. The opportunity to rest and have a day for family is crucial. I appreciate that WOLC gives their staff that.

On Tuesdays, there is staff chapel at 8:30am. This was the first thing I participated in this week. Word of Life has a beautiful chapel called the Upper Room, and that’s where staff chapel takes place. The room is constructed of stone imported from Jerusalem. It’s a small, sacred place that I really like. Anyway, after staff chapel, people from each department gather for a staff meeting, which I also attended. Getting to attend these gatherings of the entire staff is going to be really beneficial. I like to see everyone together, and get a feel for how the different ministries work together to help everything run smoothly.

Wednesday was my longest day. I was at the church from 10:45am to 9pm. First, I had a meeting with Pastor Eric, which was awesome. After that, I spent some time journaling, as well as reading Practice Resurrection by Eugene Peterson. Pastors Eric and Derek are having me read it over the course of the internship, and we’ll be discussing it in meetings. In the afternoon, I helped set up for MYC (Millennium Youth Church, Word of Life’s student ministry). Honestly, I felt a bit bored on Wednesday, just because MYC already has a routine in place, and there wasn’t really a need for me to be present. But then again, it was only the first Wednesday, so things could (and probably will) change! I got to meet several of the MYC workers that night, too.

On Thursday, I didn’t have to go in until 3pm, so I spent the day journaling, relaxing, and watching a movie. (Again, all this free time is extremely weird to me.) At 3, I had a meeting with Pastor Derek and we talked about Peterson’s book. Our weekly meetings will be focused on the book and leadership principles. We’ll also be talking through my internship as it happens, and processing things throughout the summer. After that, I had another meeting with Pastor Eric. We are having two per week so that we can focus on both “spiritual” and “practical” matters. I use quotations marks because really, the two flow together seamlessly. But I like that we will be having two meetings a week. Twice the conversations! Thursday nights are also when the worship team practices, so I got to meet several of them last night. I sat in on practice, and played keys a few times, too.

Today is Friday, and like I said earlier, the only thing I have on Friday is church at 7pm. I slept in embarrassingly late today, and then I went to Mitchell Park Plaza. The company that owns the apartment building I’m living in also owns MPP. They have an indoor pool there that I am able to use, so I went there to exercise. It’ll be nice to have a close-by place to do my aquatic therapy exercises! Plus, it’s free, which is never a bad thing.

What Now?

I’m sure that next week, some kinks in the schedule will get worked out. I will also have some weekend responsibilities that I’ll keep you all posted on when I find out more about them. Eventually, I will start to play keys for the worship team, and maybe sing some as well. I’ll be sure to let everyone know what I’m up to!

If anyone has any suggestions about how to better utilize all this free time, please let me know! I’m just not used to it. I plan to read a lot, and I brought quite a few movies with me. I don’t have any money to spend, so exploring the shops and restaurants in town (though there aren’t many) isn’t really an option. I just don’t want to feel like I’m wasting any of my time here. I want to make it count!

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Hannah

This entry was posted in Internship and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First Week

  1. Robbie Bishop says:

    Pray and rest during your free time. That’s not wasting. God bless. Praying for you.

Leave a Reply

